Friday 2nd January 2004

A.G.C. Committee and the winning Team.  Ali Marzook(Chairman & Captain),Mohammed Ikram(Treasurer), Geoffrey Dean (Competition secretary),Dong Eok Kim, Pee Dee Kapruwan, C.S. Verma, Adnan Assaf.


A.G.C. held  a special New Year's Scramble on the first Friday of the New Year 2004.  Play started from four tees between 12:30pm - 12:50pm and finished around 5:00pm. The fresh wind and the cold weather (see picture left) made scoring difficult, but with the scramble format you get four chances to hit a good shot.  There are many ways to play scrambles, the variation we played included using each team members drive at least 3 times and having a team handicap of one tenth the total handicaps of the players. Every effort was made to ensure each team had 4 players and indeed only one team in the end has 3 members. When players cancelled, we tried to replace them with other players. One such late substitution put Adnan Assaf with 3 players with handicaps of 22,27 & 27. The 3-man  team would have had very little chance of winning, but with Adnan's inclusion they managed to claim first prize. 
      AGC provided a barbecue dinner for the players and their families, which started at 6:00pm in a special tent. During the dinner the Prizes for the Scramble were presented to the winning teams. The full Team resuts are given under the tournaments section of this website, whilst pictures of all the winning teams are displayed on this page. There were individual prizes too, for Long drive and Nearest the Pin. Monica Park won the ladies NTP(hole 4) and the combined LD(hole 8). B C Hyun won the mens NTP(hole 9).
After the dinner there was a raffle which included special prizes for the children present. Pictures of some of the raffle winners are posted on this page.

Due to the timing of Ramadan most of the big tournaments of the 2003-2004 season are in 2004. In the next few months AGC have scheduled lots of exciting tournaments. The most up-to-date list of our Schedule  can be found on this website in the Tournaments section.



A.G.C. Committee with the second placed Team.   From left to right: Ali Marzook, Mohammed Ikram, Geoffrey Dean,Mahmood Saeed, S O Seo, Kumar Weerasinghe,S.K. Dey.


The third placed Team.   From left to right: Norman Abad, M.J. Shim, Mohan Singh, W S Kwon.


Monica Park (L.D. & N.T.P. winner) with Mohammed Ikram & Geoffrey Dean. All Members of the 4th placed team.


Some lucky raffle winners......